Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Would volumes be good if I don't own any comics?

Twila Starshimmer

Hi, all!

Though I'm not new to the show, I am new to the merchandise, and realized that many comic singles have been made into volumes at this point.

Since I don't currently own any, should I go for the volumes? The covers seem really cute for the volumes--even though I wouldn't get to choose which cover for which comic, I think it might be cheaper than getting them separately?

Or am I wrong?

Thanks!biggrin.png

Collections/Volumes are probably cheaper, they should be atleast. I do also like the covers on the magazines.

A good option would obviously be to just buy the volumes, and buy one/ a few comics that you like the covers of, for collecting purposes.

Or, you can buy all in comic book form, for collecitng purposes derpy_emoticon1.png derpy_emoticon2.png

• Brohoof 1

Personally, I like to buy them individually. I try to collect the covers for each one, though that means buying multiples of the same comic. I also keep one for reading and store the others vertically in mylar bags to protect them from deterioration. It's all personal choice, really. I'm a collector, so although I like to read them, my primary focus is on collecting the various covers and archiving them. If you just want to read them and get the most for your money, volumes would probably be the way to go. You could always buy individual comics later if you want.

• Brohoof 1

For me, I like the individual comics because I like the idea of having a complete collection of them, but then again I've been buying them from the start locally so price wasn't an issue.

If money is an issue, I'd say just getting the volumes(or trades as comic fans call the compilations) would be cheaper and easier than trying to hunt down all 21 of the currently released comics individually. 

• 2 weeks later...

I bought the volumes because I didn't know where to get the individual comics online.