Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

What's going to school like in the USA?

Rarity Paige Belle

Both my parents are from Massachusetts, but they went to private school, and also my cousins did. And my girlfriend was home schooled, so what is a public school like in the states? They have a bad reputation here I'm the UK, and as a teacher myself, I've gotta say, I wouldn't like to teach in one!

• 1/3 of the students do drugs and surprisingly have the capability to walk and talk.
  • 2/3 don't do anything but suck up to the opposite gender.
  • The rest actually try to do good in school, me included (see what I did there?)

And just to think that my high school is supposed to be one of the best in the area.  I forget how elementary school was.

• Brohoof 1

My totally unscientific opinion based entirely on anecdotal evidence is this: The whole thing about American public schools being worse than European schools is just a bunch of politicized BS.

Politicians in Europe like to talk about how much better their schools are to make themselves look good, while politicians in the US like to rag on our system as a way to get votes.

There are some just awful schools where it's pretty much all crime and the teachers are just happy if their kids learn anything. That's generally going to be in neighborhoods with some serious problems though.

Most public schools are basically going to come down to what the student puts into it. If you're just there to screw around then you'll take all the easy versions of the classes and coast by on a so so GPA. If you're really smart and dedicated then you'll take higher level classes like AP and honors classes and get a top notch education.

The thing is that both groups of kids are going to all be going to the same school. So it largely depends on what classes you're teaching and where.