Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

general media What are your thoughts about character theft / usage?

Pandora

Please forgive me as I don’t know where this thread goes. 

What are your thoughts about users using oc’s that do not belong to them / character theft (example: using said oc for rp etc when it’s not theirs) using oc’s without the original owners permission?

for me as an artist, I absolutely hate this. I have had multiple of my characters stolen and used this way and even people trying to sell them. Note: one of my oc has 1000€ worth of art and not a single person asked me for permission. I’ve found her back everywhere and one of my oc even had been stolen by EQD sethisto >~<

my characters whom are still partially stolen right now: Sakura, Tulip, Nawa, Pandora

usually I try to approach the user before taking it to staff as I never allow others to use my oc’s (fanarts etc are a different story though)

what are your thoughts about this? How do you handle that situation? What if they use your oc? 

these are my thoughts and I’m curious to hear yours!

• Brohoof 2

:worry:

I don't know specifically about OCs being stolen, but I have had 2 of my own created fonts stolen and stripped off the copyright text completely (which is illegal), uploaded to various free font sites, and I keep seeing those fonts used today on t-shirts and even in real gaming magazines. It's painful, yes, but there is absolutely nothing I can do about it now.

So when I developed a free game to be shared online a few years back, I decided to protect all the resources such as graphics using my own crypto scheme, which thanks to its low rate of success didn't get hacked. Sadly you cannot do something like that for images. And if my game had been popular, it would have been hacked after a while.