Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Why hate Mary Sues?

Stancet

I've been curious of this for a while. During the time I've known this fandom I have noticed an almost pathological fear of Mary Sues. It happened back in Season 3 when everyone was begging for a good Applejack episode, and then again when people thought princess-hood was taking Twilight's character too far. Not to mention, people are quick to dismiss OCs that are Mary Sues and fanfics with Mary Sues in them.

I clearly understand why everybody would rather avoid them. But in the Brony fandom it seems like a problem we're worrying about every other day. Just for some friendly discussion I'm curious to know what everybody's take on this is.

Personally, Mary Sue is a term people use too lightly. I'm a writer. I know when I've created a Mary Sue and I know how to change them for the better. For that reason, I'm normally calm when writers are working their magic cuz I know MLP has a good writing staff. 

Edited by Stancet

Well, most people are quick to dismiss Mary Sues because if any fan work has a Mary Sue in it, chances are it is of low quality and not very enjoyable. Mary Sues can very easily destroy an otherwise decent story. Why would I want to read a story about a character that's not compelling, is too perfect to be believable and usually serves as a painfully obvious self-insertion into the story by the author??

Edited by Windy Runner
  • Brohoof 1

Well, most people are quick to dismiss Mary Sues because if any fan work has a Mary Sue in it, chances are it is of low quality and not very enjoyable. Mary Sues can very easily destroy an otherwise decent story. Why would I want to read a story about a character that's not compelling, is too perfect to be believable and usually serves as a painfully obvious self-insertion into the story by the author??

Exactly. No offense to you other guys, but in my experience there is no such thing as a good mary sue. 

• Brohoof 1