Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

I want to write fanfiction but Im really scared to start. Any advice?

ZapFirePrincess

I've wanted to start writing fanfiction for my favorite fandoms (MLP mainly) but Im so afraid to go and do so when the skill level is raised so high. I am a decent writer and would like some tips or stories of how some of you guys started writing fanfics and how you got better.

To be honest. I've never posted any of my fan fic until recently (1 on fanfiction.net and a few others kinda hidden until i finish them) but I've learned to ignore the other writers. Just take your time to really get embedded into the story! read-reread and then post mabye a snippet or two for public reading. then just post the whole thing. (that's how I got my start) The one thing you really have to take in is Users input. Good and bad. This will allow you to learn where you need to tweak your writing. 

Bottom line: Just do it. write your heart out and just let others tell you what you need to change to make them the best they can be. 

Never let anyponies suggestions or comments stop you from writing. and ignore the raised bar, once you become more engulfed into writing fan fics then you can chase the higher marks. just write. and get comfortable with your fanbase, and build it. 

• Brohoof 2

The world needs great writers and classical authors, but as far as I can tell, it needs people who write fanfics much more. My advise, draw from your own life as much as you can; Blend your family members to create new people, go nuts with setting, push your plot to it's stretching point, and have fun in anyway you can. If you have fun and enjoy yourself and what you made, it won't matter if it's any good or bad, because in the end, happiness has a longer shelf life than popularity or money.