Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

I'd like some tips from any artists here

Discordian

So here's how it is: I've been an art appreciator for a long while now (at least four years) continuously faving art on Deviantart and such and when I told that to someone they said "If you like art so much why don't you try it for yourself?" so that's when I started considering it.

But the thing is, my past attempts were horrible but I know I could do it if I tried.

If it's not too much trouble I would like some tips on where to start.

Below are examples of my previous artworks so maybe you could point out something I need to start with, the things I know I need to work on are perspective and figure drawing but I'm not sure exactly how to start with those but I'll just wait and see if anyone's got any advice. Remember: I'm a beginner at best and I only have #2 Penciles and notebook or printer paper to work with so no digital art tips please.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Utter crap, right? xD

I've heard that some sketching would be a good place to start but I can't do only that.

And no, the turtle isn't a Koopa Troopa. A lot of people have asked that, but it's not. xD

My first suggestion would be to read up on some sketch books, and follow their steps. There are many different books that explain different aspects of drawing, as well as different techniques and styles. Another thing that really helped me is drawing from a reference. Eventually after looking at a character (Say Twilight for example) for a while, and drawing her figure from a reference, I just got a natural hold of how to draw her figure.

I know my methods may not work for everypony, but it is something that helped me, and may help you too. The most important thing you can do though is never give up. My first drawings were no better, if not worse than yours. drawing is a art form that takes time to get a hold of, and even then you are always still learning more to add to your skills.