Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

general Why do so many couples break up during college?

AlicornSpell

I suppose that this is the cause of the "fun-time" during college, in highschool the feelings toward another person are still clear enough to classify them as "not-for-show". However the later you spot a new person that you want to be with, the more worries about bad things you could think about it, so a few year difference may already affect that. I'm not an expert in the subject. 

I think it comes down to just not having enough time for a relationship. I only know two people in college right now who are dating but one of them lives with their partner and the other regularly hangs out with each other's families and have been together for years so they're heavily invested. You're going to have your ups and downs in college and as nice as it is to have someone by your side, it can be a hindrance to your time, especially if you're really working towards something and have jobs on the side.

It can also be a growth issue. Things were fine in high school where you only had so many responsibilities and life was more carefree, but now it's time to get into the real world and make something of yourself, but not everyone is ready for that. You like each other sure, but are they what's best for you? How to they react when they or yourself are under pressure?

Sometimes it's better to get the hard stuff out of the way first, put your focus where it's needed, and then go out and meet people once you're in a good place. Or maybe having a special someone there to support you along the way will be the reason you achieve your goals. It's difficult to say.

There's more promiscuity in college. Hence the chances of a quality relationship based on anything but physical gratification is reduced. So it stands to reason that couples in college are more likely to treat their relationships as something fleeting and disposable.