Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Alicorns?

Ayvid_Reader

So I'm new to the MLP fandom and I had some questions about Alicorns. 

Are there some that are born Alicorns? This may seem odd, but I've watched all three seasons that Netflix has of MLP: FIM and the movie but still have not been able to understand this.

Also are all Alicorns royalty? So far it seems that way, but I do realize that not all royalty are Alicorns.

I feel silly saying Alicorn because I grew up calling them Pegacorns. Maybe that's just a thing where I'm from though. Please keep in mind I've only watched the first three seasons and the movies so no spoilers if possible. I understand if you say later in season four that they explain it. Thank you!

• Brohoof 4

Well, from what I understand Celestia and Luna are the two "original" Alicorns in the MLP verse, and the other two (Twilight and Cadence) were both turned into alicorns , and Cadence was even said to be a pegasus before she become an alicorn. :)

• Brohoof 1

(edited)

If I recall correctly Lauren Faust said during season 1, or early in season 2, that Princess Celestia & Luna were born as alicorns.  

We saw Princess Twilight become an alicorn. I assume Princess Cadance went through a similar process. It is mentioned in a book that Hasbro says is canon that Princess Cadance was originally a pegasus. 

Forgot who said it, Lauren Faust or the current show head, or a writer on the show, but they said an alicorn combines or has the magic of all 3 types of ponies, earth,  unicorn , and pegasus. 

The folks working on the show have said some background characters that look like alicorns are animation mistakes.  So as far as the end of season 3 there are only 4 alicorns, all princesses.  It does seem that alicorns are automatically royalty.  In the book it's said that when Cadance became an alicorn that Celestia adopted her as a niece.

Edited by Kulstor
  • Brohoof 1