Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Are we like furries?

Jamesblorg39welsh

Well furries are just fans of almost any kind of animal and sort of celebrate being that animal they like (correct me if I'm wrong. Just because I was friends with a few furries does not actually mean I'm an expert on them :P) . We just like the show MLP. Some furries like MLP but some people who like MLP aren't furries.

I met some furries online and to be honest, we have so much in common. But I also have to say, these two fandoms share  a lot in common with almost any other fandom xD

Edited by HoopHoof

In a loose sense, yes. The furry fandom's interest is based in anthropomorphic animals, and our own interest lies in ponies that are, at least in a behavioral sense, anthropomorphized as well. There are many other parallels between the two fandoms, to be sure, but none that we don't share with any other fandom out there. I guess the only thing that really makes bronies and furries like "cousins" is the fact that our interests are widely viewed as esoteric or outright weird by other fandoms, and accordingly, we both receive a lot more hate than...well, all anime fandoms combined, or so I'd estimate. Hell, even plenty of anime fans think we're the spawn of Satan. >_>

Also, just want to add that even though furries and bronies should be sympathetic towards each other for this very reason, I've seen a shocking amount of hate towards furries come from this fandom. I just wanna say...what the hell, guys? I know not every one of us follows the so-called creed of "love and tolerate", but one would think that our propensity for being constantly hated and trolled would soften our views on furries just a tad.

Edited by Lord Thrashicane
  • Brohoof 4