Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

“Zombie Deer Disease”

Venomous

Yes, that is the title.

For those of you unaware, there’s a deadly disease spreading among elk and deer in the United States, and now experts are warning that it may one day be transmittable to humans who eat meat from wild game. The infection, known as chronic wasting disease, is related to bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE), also known as mad cow disease—which explains the equally terrifying nickname this illness has been given: zombie deer disease.

More general information (recommended): https://www.vox.com/2019/2/21/18233227/zombie-deer-disease-map

More details regarding the disease: https://www.cdc.gov/prions/cwd/index.html

Do you think that we, as humans, should be worried about this disease? I am a veterinary technician so my knowledge on zoonotic diseases is pretty fair. With that being said, I do not believe that we have reason to worry about this disease spreading to us at the moment.

• Brohoof 1

3 minutes ago, Will Guide said:

How long will it take before Pathfinder freaks out at News like this?

Kind of already told @PathfinderCS yesterday about it. :twismile:

2 minutes ago, Will Guide said:

Did he freak or show great concern?

Take it straight from the deer's mouth.

061769500404567ee85c6b838fed067f.png

I think it is as possible to transmit cross-species as any other disease. So while it looks ugly the media is just using it for clickbait. 

1 minute ago, SparklingSwirls said:

It seems unlikely fortunately. Hopefully deer populations with the disease can be isolated somehow.

Wait, isn’t that a good thing? :P 

I sure hope so!

I'm not worried because there are no cases and thus not a zoonotic disease. I'm only interested in the numbers. And...I don't eat deer anyway. 

I've been reading about prion diseases after hearing some of the game wardens talk about it on the statewide radio.