Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

general Have you ever had a moment where you realized you're not cut out for your job?

KatonRyu

As the title says, have you ever had a moment where you realized that you're really not cut out for the job you do? I have, today.

I'm a programmer. I went to college, got my Bachelor's degree, have a job, etc. Tomorrow, a new programmer is going to apply at our company. To test his skills, two of the senior devs created a test for him to do, in which he has to come up with an algorithm which sorts and merges objects along specified guidelines. I was the guinea pig for the test, and I failed miserably. After three hours, I still had nothing but errors and failing tests. A friend of mine, who hasn't programmed in two years, was able to get something more or less working in half the time, so it wasn't like the assignment was too difficult. I just completely lack the ability to come up with an algorithm. At that moment, I realized that all of my programming skills are derivative rather than innovative. I just look at what's there and expand upon it or alter it, as needed, but I've never once, either at work or in college, come up with my own algorithm for anything.

While I already knew I didn't want to program for my entire working life, that realization still sucked. So, have any of you ever had a similar experience? A moment where you just thought, "Well, I guess this really isn't my thing." ?

• Brohoof 2

(edited)

Retail.